2007   OCTOBER 27   #300

Arch Oboler - Drop Dead!

1 Introduction To Horror (2:34)
2 I'm Hungry (2:21)
3 Taking Papa Home (3:35)
4 The Dark (8:09)
5 A Day At The Dentist's (3:52)
6 The Posse (2:06)
7 Chicken Heart (7:16)
8 The Laughing Man (6:39)

I don't remember where I first saw this album cover (it must have been online), but it's one of my all-time favorites. What an expertly executed composition of imagery, color and font! Not more than a couple of months ago I was sifting through the many albums in the used section and...there it was! Do you know that feeling? Your heart starts beating fast. You calmly and quickly set the record aside so as not to attract attention. You are well on your way to becoming a vinyl junkie!

So I get this home, clean it up and here it is. I must confess, the content is not nearly as dark and sinister as I was hoping for but it still entertains in a spook-tacular way! Upon "Googling" Arch Oboler, it turns out that he enjoyed a successful career in radio as well as writing for stage and screen. One of broadcasting's top talents, he is regarded today as one of the innovators of old time radio.

Technical Notes: This record was cleaned with a Nitty Gritty and transferred directly through a Radial J-33 phono pre-amp to an M-Audio Firewire 410 soundcard. A sensible amount of noise reduction was used to eliminate, erradicate and exfoliate those pesky crackles and pops, greatly improving the overall sound. 192kbps.

Happy Halloween Everybody!

- Contributed by: Spaceboy

Images: Front Cover, Back Cover