Jorge Luis Borges (1899-1986)

Jorge Luis Borges Main Page

Labyrinths: Selected Stories and Other Writings (Unabridged) (1964)
  1. Invitation by Wiliam Gibson
  2. Introduction


  3. Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius
  4. The Garden of Forking Paths
  5. The Lottery in Babylon
  6. Pierre Menard, Author of the Quixote
  7. The Circular Ruins
  8. The Library of Babel
  9. Funes the Memorious
  10. The Shape of the Sword
  11. Theme of the Traitor and the Hero
  12. Death and the Compass
  13. The Secret Miracle
  14. Three Versions of Judas
  15. The Sect of the Phoenix
  16. The Immortal
  17. The Theologians
  18. Story of the Warrior and the Captive
  19. Emma Zunz
  20. The House of Asterion
  21. Deutsches Requiem
  22. Averroes' Search
  23. The Zahir
  24. The Waiting
  25. The God's Script


  26. The Argentine Writer and Tradition
  27. The Wall and the Books
  28. The Fearful Sphere of Pascal
  29. Partial Magic in the Quixote
  30. Valéry as Symbol
  31. Kafka and His Precursors
  32. Avatars of the Tortoise
  33. The Mirror of Enigmas
  34. A Note on (toward) Bernard Shaw
  35. A New Refutation of Time


  36. Inferno, 1, 32
  37. Paradiso, XXXI, 108
  38. Ragnarök
  39. Parable of Cervantes and the Quixote
  40. The Witness
  41. A Problem
  42. Borges and I
  43. Everything and Nothing

  44. Elegy
  45. Chronology

The classic by Latin America's finest writer of the twentieth century - a true literary sensation - with an introduction by cyber-author William Gibson.

The groundbreaking trans-genre work of Argentinian writer Jorge Luis Borges (1899-1986) has been insinuating itself into the structure, stance, and very breath of world literature for well over half a century. Multi-layered, self-referential, elusive, and allusive writing is now frequently labeled Borgesian. Umberto Eco's international bestseller, The Name of the Rose, is, on one level, an elaborate improvisation on Borges' fiction "The Library," which American readers first encountered in the original 1962 New Directions publication of Labyrinths.

This new edition of Labyrinths, the classic representative selection of Borges' writing edited by Donald A. Yates and James E. Irby (in translations by themselves and others), includes the text of the original edition (as augmented in 1964) as well as Irby's biographical and critical essay, a poignant tribute by André Maurois, and a chronology of the author's life.

Jorge Luis Borges in UbuWeb Film